What are the Four Main Purposes of Law?

The four primary objectives of law are to set up rules, maintain order, settle disputes, and safeguard freedoms and rights. Law is a set of regulations and guidelines that provide opportunities and justice to those who have been wronged, as well as protect us from our own government. Corley and Reed (198) explain that law is a collection of rules of conduct or commands issued by a governing authority with legal binding power. Laws are created to prevent chaos in business and society.

In business, law establishes regulations regarding administration, consistency, and even official work guidelines. The Constitution became the nation's law over two hundred years ago, and the principles outlined in the document are still applicable today. Law implies justice, morality, reason, order, and righteousness from the public's perspective. The four main purposes of law are establishing rules, maintaining order, resolving disputes, and protecting freedoms and rights.